Greenguy's Board


Go Back   Greenguy's Board > Blogs and Blogging
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2008-04-09, 01:09 PM   #1
ronnie
Wheither you think you can or you think you can't, Your right.
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: midwest
Posts: 2,274
Send a message via ICQ to ronnie
WP Quirks?

Noticed a few things about wordpress that are kinda bothersome. But guessing there is nothing that can be done about them.

On posts that are not current or past, talking about future posts, when they are in a new category, the new category does not get added to the category list widget after the post appears. Any clue why?

I can go in and edit the post and just save it and then the new category shows up, but seems kind of pain. What I really like about WP is being able to make future posts and let the blog kind of run on it's own.

Also noticed not all my tags show up in the WP default tag cloud. And this is not the same as the category problem above. Another, don't know why. Or maybe I need to use a different tag cloud widget?

Also does any one know how to call up WP categories but only those that have current posts? The code I use now brings up all categories whether they have posts or not.
ronnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-04-09, 01:31 PM   #2
HotwivesOnline
Aw, Dad, you've done a lot of great things, but you're a very old man, and old people are useless
 
HotwivesOnline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Blogosphere.
Posts: 28
Send a message via Yahoo to HotwivesOnline
This is a documented bug in WordPress:

http://trac.wordpress.org/ticket/4913

http://trac.wordpress.org/ticket/5488

Depending on the current version you're running, you might need to upgrade. Otherwise, the only workaround they recommend is re-saving posts. (Ugh.)

What version are you on?
__________________
Allie's husband David
Here's my blog at Hot Wife Allie | Since Sept. 2004
HotwivesOnline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-04-09, 03:28 PM   #3
walrus
Oh no, I'm sweating like Roger Ebert
 
walrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,773
Send a message via ICQ to walrus Send a message via Yahoo to walrus
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnie View Post
Also does any one know how to call up WP categories but only those that have current posts? The code I use now brings up all categories whether they have posts or not.
Here's the code your looking for:
Code:
<?php wp_list_cats('sort_column=name&optioncount=1&hierarchical=1'); ?>
As far as your tag problem, you know that limits can be set both in the tag admin and in the code itself as to how many get displayed....dont you?

As far as your other widget problems...I know you keep telling me how easy widgets are but I still do things the old fashioned way and hardcode my sidebars.
__________________
Naked Girlfriend Porn TGP
free partner account
walrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-04-09, 05:07 PM   #4
ronnie
Wheither you think you can or you think you can't, Your right.
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: midwest
Posts: 2,274
Send a message via ICQ to ronnie
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotwivesOnline View Post
This is a documented bug in WordPress:

http://trac.wordpress.org/ticket/4913

http://trac.wordpress.org/ticket/5488

Depending on the current version you're running, you might need to upgrade. Otherwise, the only workaround they recommend is re-saving posts. (Ugh.)

What version are you on?
Thanks, though the second link says it was fixed in 2.3.1, unless I read it wrong, I'm using 2.3.3. Yes, re-saving is the way to fix it, but like you said, ugh, loses that great feature in WP to use future posts. One of the big reasons I don't use Movable type any more.

It's not a real big deal as the category shows up in the post, as in "posted under.." and in my single posts I pull up the categories hardcoded (don't always use widgets ), so it shows there as well.

I've been wanting to upgrade, but haven't gotten around to checking if my plug-in's will work, and guessing most won't say, so it will probably be trial and error.
ronnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-04-09, 05:32 PM   #5
ronnie
Wheither you think you can or you think you can't, Your right.
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: midwest
Posts: 2,274
Send a message via ICQ to ronnie
Quote:
Originally Posted by walrus View Post
Here's the code your looking for:
Code:
<?php wp_list_cats('sort_column=name&optioncount=1&hierarchical=1'); ?>
Thats the code, actually I think I used that before, but it showed the count, which I didn't want, but changing the count to 0 fixes that.. Thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by walrus View Post
As far as your tag problem, you know that limits can be set both in the tag admin and in the code itself as to how many get displayed....dont you?

As far as your other widget problems...I know you keep telling me how easy widgets are but I still do things the old fashioned way and hardcode my sidebars.
I can't seem to find any settings for the tags. Only thing that I know of is I can set the title in the tag cloud widget itself. I am using the WP default tag cloud widget. Haven't checked the code. Will do.

Guess this is a good example that widgets don't always do the job, compared to hard coding. Maybe I am too into the coolness of widgets... Though I do like how I can more code around, or in and out of my blog very quickly.
ronnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-04-09, 07:56 PM   #6
ronnie
Wheither you think you can or you think you can't, Your right.
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: midwest
Posts: 2,274
Send a message via ICQ to ronnie
I learned there is a limit to the numbe rof tags that show up in the cloud widget, as You were saying Walrus. I sure don't see how you can changed the limit. I even checked the widgets file and while I found the tag cloud code, I didn't see anywhere you can changed the limit. I downloaded a better plug-in, will try that.

I did have one tag question come up today. Does any one know the template the tag pages use? I tried all I could think of, but can't find the right one. Wanted to edit it. Also, has any one made a "tag" page? Might be a good thing.
ronnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-04-09, 08:16 PM   #7
walrus
Oh no, I'm sweating like Roger Ebert
 
walrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,773
Send a message via ICQ to walrus Send a message via Yahoo to walrus
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnie View Post
I learned there is a limit to the numbe rof tags that show up in the cloud widget, as You were saying Walrus. I sure don't see how you can changed the limit. I even checked the widgets file and while I found the tag cloud code, I didn't see anywhere you can changed the limit. I downloaded a better plug-in, will try that.

I did have one tag question come up today. Does any one know the template the tag pages use? I tried all I could think of, but can't find the right one. Wanted to edit it. Also, has any one made a "tag" page? Might be a good thing.
Since I had simple tags installed before I played around with tags I'm not 100% sure this is correct but...now that I've upgraded to 2.5 I cant find the menu I thought I had....Why the fuck did they change the dashboard!!!

By default the tag command limits to 45 tags and from what I can tell from the documentation that's the maximum but you can read this and decide for yourself


Below is the heirarchy for a which template tags use. If it doesn't find #1 WP uses #2, if it can't find #2 it uses #3 and so on.

1. The Tag Template with a matching slug. If the tag's slug were sometag, WordPress would look for tag-sometag.php
2. tag.php
3. archive.php
4. index.php
__________________
Naked Girlfriend Porn TGP
free partner account
walrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-04-09, 08:44 PM   #8
LD
wtfwjd?
 
LD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,103
It always drove crazy that when editing the text widgets I could not hold the mouse button down and select a section of text. I did figure out it works fine in Firefox...nice little discovery.
__________________
Artisteer Wordpress Theme Generator Create Custom Themes!
My Little Network
LD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-04-09, 10:52 PM   #9
RageCash-Ben
No offence Apu, but when they were handing out religions you must have been out taking a whizz
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 286
Send a message via ICQ to RageCash-Ben
A little off topic but I recommend all word press users hold off updating to 2.5 until they iron the bugs out.
__________________
Meat Cash 8 Week $100 PPS Promo
RageCash-Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Mark Read
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Greenguy Marketing Inc