Greenguy's Board

Go Back   Greenguy's Board > Newbie Questions
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2006-04-26, 04:15 PM   #1
virgohippy
Madness is like gravity. All it takes is a little... push.

link trades: keep em fair, or just get em?

Hi all,

Just got my first link trade request for a fairly niche-e-fied freesite hub of mine, in an email. Other party has placed my link on a page 3 clicks deep from their root, on what looks like a link dump for "general adult sites." My hub has only my root warning page and a main page, and they want to exchange links. Also, the two sites don't seem all that compatible.

I'm sure different webmasters take different strategies, but is the old saying, "those with the most links pointing to their site wins" just that simple? I really get the feeling a link exchange with this site won't do me much good... but I'm just a noob, wtf do I know?

If I say no, I'll be sure not to close this door permanently, and spell out exactly why.

What do you guys look for when you exchange links with other sites?
virgohippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-26, 04:44 PM   #2
ponygirl
on vacation

Send a message via ICQ to ponygirl
I personally never respond to spammy email link trades, most of the time they don't even know who you are & you get buried on some 'link page' If it wasn't a solicited trade & you don't know who it is, I wouldn't worry about it.

I prefer to link to those I know so I know they aren't going to pull my link 2 weeks later.

It's been said here before, be careful who you link to - think quality, not quantity

Ponygirl
ponygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-26, 04:48 PM   #3
virgohippy

Tis what I thought. Thanks ponygirl.

In the meantime, one more unreturned link pointing to my hub is kinda nice.
Old 2006-04-26, 11:08 PM   #4
Halfdeck
You can now put whatever you want in this space :)

Send a message via ICQ to Halfdeck