Greenguy's Board


Go Back   Greenguy's Board > Programming & Scripting
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2005-02-24, 10:34 AM   #1
Ramster
Life is good
 
Ramster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 11,862
Send a message via ICQ to Ramster Send a message via AIM to Ramster
PHP script help

A friend of mine needs help with a PHP script. Maybe someone could help me fix this for him.

Here's the problem:
Trying to have some control over who signs on

Typical Signon MEMBER (form), then list members name/address etc.
The second PHP does not work...
<?include("DB_Connect.php");
$result = mysql_query("Select * FROM members where Lastname = 'HLName' and Firstname = 'HFName' ");
print ('Personal Information'); ... blah blah

He then says:
Seems no matter what I put in HLNAME line it ends up with a not found condition or PHP syntax error.
So looking for a way to pass the variable LastName to the next PHP document or SQL
I've turned on register_global but it only seems to be for the one screen and does not get set on the next screen.

Anyone?

Thanks
__________________
Pornstar Legends | Live Cam Model Shows | Hungarian Girls
Skype: robmurray999
Ramster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-02-24, 11:18 AM   #2
absix
Operator! Give me the number for 911!
 
absix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 135
Send a message via ICQ to absix
My progammer said there's not enough information and he's doesn't understand the issue
__________________
ICQ: ICQ59115623
ab at absix dot net
absix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-02-24, 11:40 AM   #3
cd34
a.k.a. Sparky
 
cd34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Posts: 2,396
Not sure exactly what you're running into.

Is it possible that you don't have short tags turned on and need to use <?php

to pass information, there are a number of ways. If it is a form submission, i.e. <form action="2ndpage.php" method="post">

You can do something like:

$result = mysql_query("Select * FROM members where Lastname = '".$_REQUEST['HLName']."' and Firstname = 'HFName' ");

or, if the quotes give you a headache:
$HLName = $_REQUEST['HLName'];
$result = mysql_query("Select * FROM members where Lastname = '$HLName' and Firstname = 'HFName' ");

if it is a mysql error that you are getting, after the result line, try:

print mysql_error(); // this will tell you what the interpreter is returning.

If you are using a header("Location: /2ndpage.php");

You can use sessions and pass the data. If you use sessions, you probably want to turn transsid on. This creates a wacky url with the hash just in case the cookie is not accepted by the surfer. The very first line of each page do:

session_start();

Then, you can set values like:
$_SESSION['HLName'] = 'birdicus';
$_SESSION['FLName'] = 'fasticus';

and read those values on the next page as:
$_SESSION['HLName'];

You can also use $_COOKIE['HLName'] if you set the cookie on the prior page with setcookie.

However, not really enough information to see what is going on based on what you posted. Maybe if you can post the error you are getting or a little more of the script.
__________________
SnapReplay.com a different way to share photos - iPhone & Android
cd34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-02-24, 12:35 PM   #4
Barron
You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is 'never try'
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 166
try this:

assumes:
<form method=POST action=info.php>

EDIT: Shit, I read your question wrong. The below script was changed to get the info you want.

<?
session_start();
$con=mysql_pconnect("localhost", "db_username", "db_password");
if($_POST[firstname] and $_POST[lastname])
{
foreach($HTTP_POST_VARS as $key=>$value)
{
$_POST[$key]=trim($value);
}
$info=mysql_query("SELECT * FROM `members` WHERE `firstname`='$_POST[firstname]' AND `lastname`='$_POST[lastname]' LIMIT 1", $con) or die(mysql_error());
$info_numrows=mysql_num_rows($info);
if($info_numrows > 0)
{
// found info
$info_array=mysql_fetch_array($info);
$_SESSION[firstname]=$_POST[firstname];
$_SESSION[lastname]=$_POST[lastname];
echo "First name: $info_array[firstname]<br>\n";
echo "Last Name: $info_array[lastname]<br>\n";
echo "Address: $info_array[address]<br>\n";
}
else
{
// info not found
echo "you are not in our database<br>\n";
include('get_info.php');
}
}
else
{
// No first or last name provided
include(get_info.php);
}
?>

Last edited by Barron; 2005-02-24 at 01:19 PM..
Barron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-02-24, 12:44 PM   #5
cd34
a.k.a. Sparky
 
cd34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Posts: 2,396
However, note that in both of our cases, you could enter a username of

johnny'/* and any password and get in
__________________
SnapReplay.com a different way to share photos - iPhone & Android
cd34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-02-24, 12:48 PM   #6
Halfdeck
You can now put whatever you want in this space :)
 
Halfdeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Haven, CT
Posts: 985
Send a message via ICQ to Halfdeck
Barron's code looks like it should work.

When php/mysql code craps out, I usually:

1) print out the query using an echo statement, preferrably using mysql_error(); Sometimes what you think you're sending to MYSQL is not what's actually getting sent.

2) If I'm really stuck, I use phpadmin or some other mysql interface and play around with different queries to come up with a query that actually returns what I want. Then its just a matter of putting that query into the php script.
Halfdeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-02-24, 01:04 PM   #7
Barron
You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is 'never try'
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 166
He wasnt trying to log anyone in. I changed the code to fetch the info for the user.

Ramster, there isnt any error checking, you must put that in. Malformed input from a webpage can really screw things up : )
Barron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-02-24, 01:49 PM   #8
Ramster
Life is good
 
Ramster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 11,862
Send a message via ICQ to Ramster Send a message via AIM to Ramster
Sorry for the delay in replying. I had to go for a couple of hours.

First off, thanks for the replys!!

As I mentioned it is not my code so I'm going to pass this info along to my friend and see if it helps. He has a regular job so I most likely won't hear back from him until tonight or tomorrow. If it does not work then I'll get more of the code from him.
__________________
Pornstar Legends | Live Cam Model Shows | Hungarian Girls
Skype: robmurray999
Ramster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-02-24, 01:50 PM   #9
codemonkey
WHO IS FONZY!?! Don't they teach you anything at school?
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 44
Send a message via ICQ to codemonkey Send a message via Yahoo to codemonkey
Yup anytime you have a database query that can be changed by the user - when using $_GET $_POST $_REQUEST $_COOKIE etc always check the input..

Use the mysql_real_escape_string function in php to clean the input before you put it into the database. This will help to prevent SQL injection attacks by quoting out special characters.

so when inserting selecting etc always do this..

PHP Code:
$query "SELECT * FROM table WHERE user='"mysql_real_escape_string($user) ."'"
i got fed up of typing that so i made a little function to make less typing - what can i say i'm a lazy coder

PHP Code:
//Escape the string for the database and add single quotes

function quote($value){
    
$value "'" .mysql_real_escape_string($value) ."'";
    return 
$value

So your code is now...

PHP Code:
$query "SELECT * FROM table WHERE user="quote($user); 
Hope this helps someone out
__________________
BBW modelling competitions
codemonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-02-24, 02:23 PM   #10
Barron
You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is 'never try'
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 166
I've got this really thick book on Web Database Applications and nowhere does it mention "mysql_real_escape_string"!

This will help me, thanks
Barron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-02-24, 02:28 PM   #11
cd34
a.k.a. Sparky
 
cd34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Posts: 2,396
remember that using that actually breaks certain things if you are expecting graphics data.

Ideally, you'll turn off magic_quotes so that the behavior is completely predictable, and you can properly escape data when working with mysql.

However, most hosting companies randomly choose whether to leave magic_quotes on or off.
__________________
SnapReplay.com a different way to share photos - iPhone & Android
cd34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-02-24, 03:07 PM   #12
Barron
You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is 'never try'
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 166
Yeah, I assumed it would only be used on text.

What I have never figured out is how to check for white space:

<?
function alphaNumeric($entered)
{
if(ereg("^[a-zA-Z0-9]*$", $entered))
{
return true;
}
}
$firstname="Jose";
$lastname="de la Cruz";
if($output=alphaNumeric($firstname) or $output=alphaNumeric($lastname)
{
echo "true";
}
?>

as a work around:

$lastname="de la Cruz";
$explode_lastname=explode(" ", $lastname);
$new_lastname=implode("", $explode_lastname);
if($output=alphaNumeric($new_lastname))
{
echo "true";
}
Barron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-02-24, 03:13 PM   #13
cd34
a.k.a. Sparky
 
cd34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Posts: 2,396
for regexp, if you wanted the first character to be alphanumeric, non-space

^[a-zA-Z0-9][a-zA-Z0-9 ]+$

of course, that will allow an ending space character, which could eliminate with something like:

^[a-zA-Z0-9][a-zA-Z0-9 ]+[a-zA-Z0-9]$

however, that still allows multi-space runs in the middle.

One thing I always tell my guys -- validate input, don't try and fix it. Running search and replace to destroy invalid string or url encoding, etc can be avoided with a decent regexp.
__________________
SnapReplay.com a different way to share photos - iPhone & Android
cd34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Mark Read
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Greenguy Marketing Inc